Momofuku ribeyes, boyfriend style

So Dom wanted to make me dinner. Or rather- I dropped extremely unsubtle hints about him making me dinner until he agreed. Dom does a hilarious and adorable thing when attempting to cook, which is, look around panicked at all the ingredients out on the counter having no idea where to start. He doesn’t know what to chop first or cook first (or, when cooking for himself, which to open first, the box or the jar). Learning how to time correctly in cooking is, in my opinion, the hardest part of it, so rather than let him freak out trying to cook me dinner, I suggested we cook dinner together. Here’s what we made:

Momofuku Pan-Roasted Steak

2-2.5 lb bone in ribeye (I made 2 1.5 lb ribeyes, because I like steak, and because so does Dom)
salt
fresh ground pepper

4 tbsp butter
3 cloves of garlic
1-2 shallots
a sprig of thyme

Coat the steaks liberally with salt and pepper, and let them come to room temperature while you’re doing whatever else. In the meantime, put your oven on at 400 degrees, and let the biggest cast iron (or general oven safe) pan you have get reaaaaaaally hot on the stove.

When the steaks are room temperature, the oven is at temperature and the pan is smoking, put the steak in the pan, and probably open a window and turn on the fan above your stove. Let the steak sit without moving for 2 minutes, then flip and let the other side cook for 2 minutes. The Momofuku recipe has you sear the side of the steak on the fatty edge, but I didn’t do that.

Then, put the whole thing, pan and all, in the hot oven. The recipe says leave it in the oven for 8 minutes, and don’t you dare touch it while it’s in there. I would say more like 4-4.5 minutes and don’t you dare touch it, but I like a medium-rare steak. If you like a medium-well steak, you could go 8 minutes. I did as the recipe said and left it for 8 minutes, and the steaks were more done than I like them.

After however many minutes you decide, take the whole thing out and put it over low heat on the stove, putting in the pan the 4 tbsp of butter, the shallots, garlic and thyme. Now, for the next, and most important step, baste the hell out of the steak with all that melted butter and deliciousness. This was a job I gave to Dom, because the thing weighs like 40 lb. Basically, you hold the pan at a 45 degree angle, letting the butter pool at one side of the pan, then you spoon it over the steaks, moving everything around a bit. You do this for 3-5 minutes, I’d say, depending on how done you like your steaks. For medium rare, like I like it, I would go maybe 3-4 minutes.

Then put the steaks on a plate to rest, for 10 minutes. I cannot, for the love of God, stress how important it is to let your meat rest. I know you’re hungry, but trust me. You WANT to wait. If you don’t wait for them to rest, you may as well have had cheeseburgers instead.

While the steaks are resting, keep the juices/butter/garlic bubbling in the pan, you can cook it down and spoon it over the steaks when you’re ready to serve them. I say you CAN cook it down, but I mean you MUST, because if you don’t you’re a total nut.

Now listen. I had every intention of taking pretty pre-eating steak pictures, but I didn’t, and remembered halfway through eating to take a picture, because Dom reminded me.

please disregard the fact that it is half eaten

This steak was REALLY good.  It was tender, with a nice crust on the outside, flavorful and well, beefy.  I’ve eaten a fair bit of steak in my life, and cooked a fair bit of steak myself as well, and I know for a fact that the two most important things in the process are 1. don’t move it around once it’s on the heat and 2. LET IT REST.  This episode of steak cooking also taught me that undercooking steak is the right choice, especially because you let it rest, which allows for some extra cooking time.  But really- why I never thought of basting a steak with melted butter while it was cooking is a complete mystery.  Also, something I thought of that would likely be totally delicious is adding a slug or two of good red wine in with the melted butter.  I made some pretty middle of the road but tasty sides with it, garlic mashed potatoes (again, not shy with the butter and cream) and green beans, which I dressed with caramelized onions, and a quick vinaigrette of apple cider vinegar, brown mustard and honey.

There was, by the way, no leftover steak.

-Cat

1 Comment

Filed under Meat, Recipes

One response to “Momofuku ribeyes, boyfriend style

  1. Mom

    Next to Mario Batali’s “Best Steak you’ll ever eat” this sounds most like the best steak I ever ate in a little restaurant in DC…can’t wait for this weekend to try it.

Leave a Reply

