Summer Cocktails

After a long day at work, I was ready for a cocktail. Since it was approximately 95 degrees, I thought some fresh fruit would be a nice addition. So after a trip to the grocery store, and the liquor store….this is what I came up with:

1. Pimm’s No. 1 Cup


This is a classic cocktail, I can take no credit for it. Pimm’s is actually a gin based liquor but for those of you non gin drinkers (like myself) it doesn’t taste like your classic green bottle gin. This is a special blend of spices that, rumor has it, only two people in the world know. Cool, crisp, citrus-herbal tangy deliciousness.

1 1/2 oz Pimm’s No. 1 Cup

cucumber slices

lemon slices

Lemon-Lime soda (or ginger-ale, or lemonade)

Muddle two slices of lemon and two slices of cucumber in the bottom of a glass, add ice and Pimm’s, top with Sprite.

2. Cantaloupe Cooler

This one actually is my own creation- don’t give me too much credit, it’s not horribly creative, but it is good! This is the time of year where cantaloupes (and all melons) are coming into season. I, for one, am excited. So excited I added some vodka:

1 1/2 oz vodka

1/2 cup cantaloupe puree

limes

soda water or sprite

salt/sugar mix

Start by pureeing the cantaloupe. I started with 1/2 which was enough for 4 drinks. I cubed and and pureed it in my food processor until it was smooth. Mix equal parts of kosher salt and sugar on a small plate, for rimming the glass. Slide a wedge of lime around the rim to moisten (never use water for this, it just melts whatever you are rimming the glass with) I thought the sugar/salt was genius, since salt is said to bring out the sweetness in cantaloupe, but feel free to just use sugar. Once you have rimmed the glass fill with ice, vodka, and 1/2 cup cantaloupe puree. Top with soda or sprite and a squeeze of lime. Stir to mix. This could also be served shaken and up.

3. Raspberry Jalapeño Mash

MMMmm I loved this one, but I also love the mix of spicy, sweet, tangy. This one is not for those who are afraid of spice (the boyfriend wasn’t a huge fan of this one, which meant I had to drink two…which will also explain the picture quality…) You can dial up or down the spice depending on how many jalapeño slices you add but I would urge you not to seed them. Without the heat, (which comes mostly from the seeds) the drink doesn’t really work.

1 1/2 oz vodka (or white rum would work)

3 slices of jalapeño

4 raspberries

2 tsp agave nectar (or honey)

Lemon-Lime soda

Muddle the slices of jalapeño and raspberries in the bottom of a glass. Add agave nectar, then ice, vodka, and Sprite. Stir to mix.

it got dark, sorry.

A few notes:

I put 1 1/2 oz of liquor in all of these cocktails because it’s the standard pour. But lets be honest, like most bars, my  pour was closer to 2 oz. Somewhere less than 1/2 full once you’ve added ice, and you should be good.

Don’t have a muddler? Use the end of a wooden spoon. Another note on muddling: when you muddle things like vegetables or fruits- go to town, muddle the crap out of them to release the juice and the flavors. However, when you muddle things like herbs be more gentle, you want to bruise them to release the oils, not mutilate them. I also think muddled drinks are best served with straws so you can continue to poke and mix at the delicious things on the bottom of the glass.

-Sue

2 Comments

Filed under Drinks, Recipes

2 responses to “Summer Cocktails

  1. bryan

    cool recipes and now drinks too! this is the best blog ever.

  2. Mom

    Can I try these all at once??!!
    Delicious-ness…

Leave a Reply

