BBQ week: BBQ sauce

Dear BBQ sauce,

If I could put you on everything, I would. You make French fries taste even better, and do wonderful and amazing things to chicken. I really enjoy you slathered on a burger and topped with some blue cheese crumbles and crispy fried onions. Not to mention when you are on pizza with chicken, oh my.  I think I could eat you by the spoonful; my mouth is watering just thinking about you! Please come to every single barbeque I attend this summer.

Love your adoring fan,

Sue

Would you like my recipe?

Ingredients:

1 6oz can tomato paste

1 cup good quality maple syrup

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

½ cup brown sugar

1 ½ tbs onion powder

½ tsp garlic powder or granulated garlic

1 tsp salt

1-2 tsp chipotle chili powder

2 tbs liquid smoke (optional)

Dump everything into a bowl and whisk until smooth. That’s it!

Now, for a few notes about this:

Most barbecue sauce recipes include ketchup and some method of cooking garlic, straining things, and a lot of work. This barbecue sauce will take you about 3 minutes to make. I also am a HUGE fan of the tomato paste because it creates a thick sauce. You are still adding the sugar and the vinegar so you get the same effect of using ketchup, but without the runny part. Some of you may say using garlic and onion powder is cheating…but I don’t care. If you really think its cheating you should look into how good quality garlic powder is made (note I said good quality, and also not garlic salt…I’m warning you, steer clear of those red topped spices in the supermarket).

If you like your barbeque sauce to be spicy, use the full 2 tsp of chipotle powder (or even more if you want!).  However, if you aren’t a spice person you can easily use regular chili powder, which adds flavor without much heat. Some people like smoky barbeque sauces, so that’s where the liquid smoke comes in. You can buy this at most supermarkets. I decide on the spice level, and the smokiness, depending on what I’m making. One of the best things about this sauce is that there is no cooking involved, so you can add extra of any of the spices as your taste buds see fit…and you don’t have to turn on the stove in the sweltering summer heat!

-Sue

Leave a comment

Filed under BBQ, Recipes

Leave a Reply

