BBQ week: Dill and Tarragon Dip

You know that dill dip that comes with the pre-packaged vegetable platters? This is SO much better than that. I was never a huge dill fan until I started growing my own, now I seem to find uses for in tons of recipes. OH and tarragon, do you use tarragon in cooking? I find that not a lot of people really know what it tastes like, but here is the funny thing, it really changes depending on the type and use. Fresh tarragon is a bit lemony with a little licorice flavor. Then you have dried tarragon, which has a slightly sweeter taste still with hints of lemon and almost a faint tea flavor. I use a mix of tarragon (both fresh and dry), lemon, and dill in this dip, along with Greek yogurt.  Greek yogurt is my favorite ingredient; it’s thick, rich, and tart. It is a great alternative to sour cream and is low fat and packs a ton of protein. Most dips contain a 1 to 1 mixture of sour cream and mayonnaise. This dip is mostly Greek yogurt, so it’s a healthier version of that crappy supermarket dill dip too.

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups Greek yogurt (I use Fage 0%)

¼ cup mayonnaise

2 tbs Lemon Juice

1 clove garlic finely chopped

 1 ½ tbs fresh chopped dill (aprox. one big handful)

1 tbs fresh chopped tarragon

2 tsp dried tarragon

1 tsp salt

Method: Finely chop all the herbs and the garlic. Whisk together all remaining ingredients until evenly mixed. Serve with toasted pita points and fresh vegetables (or anything else you think would go with it).

My friend Heidi made a good suggestion that this “dip” would also be a great as a salad dressing. I haven’t tried this yet, but I think you could easily thin this out with a bit of skim milk to make a delicious salad dressing…I’m thinking something with arugula. Someone try it and let me know!

 -Sue

1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers, BBQ, Recipes, Vegetarian

One response to “BBQ week: Dill and Tarragon Dip

  1. bryan

    I realize this may sound chauvinistic, but do your boyfriends realize how lucky they are?

Leave a Reply

