BBQ Week: Bobby Flay’s Dallas Burgers

I like burgers.  I mean- a LOT.  Probably not as much as I like hotdogs (I will now share something with you that I am extremely proud of- once I ate five hotdogs in one day, and it happened in the last five years), but still a lot.  I eat reasonable things all week, and by Friday night, I always, and I mean always, want a burger.  Burgers are all hip now, which is great, but I am largely unimpressed by fancy burgers, they are mostly a contest in “amount of ingredients present on one sandwich”.  Or- a contest in “who has made aioli with the most exotic ingredient”.  What I like about these Bobby Flay burgers is that they’re pretty straightforward, but the flavors are balanced REALLY well.  Plus- I am inclined to like anything with BBQ sauce on it.

Bobby Flay’s Dallas Burgers

1/3 lb 80/20 beef per burger you want to make (80/20 means the ratio of meat to fat.  Don’t be afraid, fat is what makes meat tasty.)

Spice rub:

1/2 tsp chipotle powder

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp coriander

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp dry mustard

cracked black pepper

kosher salt

To make burgers, I put all the meat together and salt and pepper it, and form it into a ball.  Then I split the big ball evenly into halves, then split the halves into halves, or thirds, and so on.  That way- you use all the meat you bought, and the patties are relatively uniform.  You do want to be careful not to overwork the meat, that’ll make it tough, and you want it to be tender.  Form each balll gently into a patty- I like mine to cover the palm of my hand- and use your thumb to make a depression in the center of each one.  That helps them not puff up when they cook- though in my experience, they puff up a bit no matter what you do.

When you’ve made the patties, sprinkle some of the spice rub on the tops and bottoms of each one.  You want to use all the rub, so sprinkle liberally.  If you have the time, let them come to room temperature by leaving them on the counter while you cook other things.  It’s best if the meat isn’t cold when it hits a really hot pan.  When you’re ready to cook them, get a cast iron pan REALLY hot on the stove.  Depending on the size of your pan, you can probably cook 2-4 burgers at a time, my pan accommodates two at a time.  Don’t crowd the pan- they need plenty of room to sit far apart so the heat can get to them.  For medium rare, I’d say cook 3-4 minutes per side, only turning the burgers once.  DO NOT TAMP THEM DOWN WITH YOUR SPATULA.  AND THEN LET THEM REST FOR AT LEAST 10 MINUTES.

Coleslaw:

1 package shredded cabbage

about a cup of shredded carrot

1/2 a sweet onion, either grated or sliced very thinly

1/2 cup mayonnaise (use real mayonnaise, not Miracle Whip, and my love of Miracle Whip should illustrate how important this is)

4 tbsp apple cider vinegar

3 tbsp white sugar

cracked black pepper

kosher salt

Whisk together the mayonnaise, vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper.  Drizzle that over the veggies, mix it all together and let it sit at least 10 minutes before serving.

To serve, toast some hamburger buns (I like little ones, because I like as little bread as possible, but do as you like), put a burger on each one, drizzle some BBQ sauce over the patty, and pile some coleslaw on top.  Pickles would be good on it too.

this isn't my picture, because we ate them too fast to take pictures.

-Cat

Leave a comment

Filed under BBQ, Meat, Recipes

Leave a Reply

