BBQ week: Honey Basil Potato Salad

So, my mom used to make this wonderful potato salad, very classic. Yellow, with eggs and celery and all sorts of delicious and amazing things, the story was that the recipe was my grandmother’s, and when my dad met my mom she put a little extra magic into this potato salad and made it into what I know and love (read- this is better than that neon yellow store bought crap.) This is still my entire family’s favorite potato salad; my dad always requests it for his birthday. Some days I wish she would pack it on dry ice and send it to me. It’s that good.

Alas, not everyone is a fan of the classic yellow potato salad. Also there tends to be a lot of mayo in that type of potato salad (and do not get me wrong, I am a huge fan of mayo, but I’m also trying not to be 300 lbs). So here we have a slightly less rich version. It has very clean bright flavors that come through and are bound by a small amount of Greek yogurt and a little mayo (you have to have a little!). The savory earthy flavor of the basil is highlighted with the faint sweetness of the honey. This will never replace my mom’s potato salad, but it’s a damn good alternative.

Ingredients:

3 lbs of potatoes, mixed new potatoes (red, yellow, purple, or even fingerlings)

2 tbs kosher salt

1/3 cup Greek yogurt (I use fage 0%)

¼  cup mayo

2 tbs honey

4 large shallots, chopped roughly

2 cups fresh sweet basil (loosely packed- about 2 handfuls)

3-4 strips of bacon crisped and crumbled (optional)

Fresh ground black pepper

Method:

Wash and chop the potatoes into chunky bite size pieces. Boil in salted water for 10-15 minutes until tender. Drain and put in a large serving bowl.

While the potatoes are cooking prepare the rest of the ingredients, it mixes best when the potatoes are still warm. Whisk together the Greek yogurt, mayo and honey. Season with pepper to taste. Toss the potatoes with the dressing, shallots, basil, and bacon if you are using it. Serve warm or cold.

The bacon is of course optional and this makes a wonderful vegetarian potato salad without it. But I like bacon, so …in it goes.

Even my kitten wants to eat it.

-Sue

Leave a comment

Filed under BBQ, Recipes, Sides, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

