BBQ week: Sue’s Mom’s Baked Beans

Baked beans are a barbecue staple. But do you want to be the one who brings the can of baked beans?  No, which is exactly why I am giving you this recipe. Also because I REALLY love these baked beans. Recently, I made these for a BBQ and my friend Heidi informed me that her mom used to make the exact same ones. All these years I was sure this was a secret family recipe. But I’m 100% sure my mom’s are the best (sorry Heidi).  What I love about them is that they’re pretty easy because they include a few kinds of canned beans but they also include a little good old fashioned Midwest love.

Ingredients:

½ lb of bacon (I use thick cut, but any kind will do)

2 medium yellow onions, diced

1 can dark red kidney beans

1 can butter beans

2 cans pork and beans, aprox 21 oz total (I use the good old fashioned cheap kind)

1 cup brown sugar

½ cup apple cider vinegar

¼ tsp garlic powder

¼ dry ground mustard

¼ tsp ginger (the original recipe calls for ½ tsp, but I actually hate ginger, so I use less)

¼ tsp salt

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut bacon into one inch pieces. Cat swears by scissors for this, I just stack it up and use a big ol’ chef’s knife, so use whatever method you prefer.  I also make this in a 3 ½ qt. Dutch oven because it can go from stove to oven, but if you don’t have something like this you can start it in a large pot on the stove and move it to an ovenproof casserole dish for the baking. Brown the bacon until it is starting to crisp up, then add the onions and cook on medium low until tender. Drain the fat. Add brown sugar, vinegar, and spices. Cook for 5 minutes. Drain kidney beans and butter beans and add to the pot. Do not drain the pork and beans, add both cans. Bake for 1 hour at 350.

Simple, delicious, classic BBQ food.

And one more thing- these are delicious cold from the fridge the next day.

-Sue

Leave a comment

Filed under BBQ, Legumes, Recipes, Sides

Leave a Reply

