Honey Ancho Chili Corn Butter and Caveman Steak

A few weeks ago Nick and I were home in Indiana visiting my parents, and we bought the summer grilling issue of Bon Appétit. Holy crap, I want to make every single thing in there. I already love almost everything grilled, but this issue inspired me to want to cook everything outside. I mean let’s face it…everything really is better grilled.

Picture courtesy of Renae Gugan Smith*

On the way home from the airport, we picked up 2 porterhouse steaks and a bag of corn.  The two recipes we planned to tackle were the caveman steak and the ancho chili honey butter. Now, I will show you a picture of the amazingly HUGE porterhouse we consumed (one was enough to feed four people) and I will give you a link to how to cook it. Basically- you put the steak directly on the coals…that’s right.  Directly. On. The. Coals.  It is incredible, and since we first made it I don’t think Nick has grilled steak any other way (Porterhouse is amazing, though expensive, and we have found that bone-in NY strip works well also). I have an amazing roof top deck…but at night it has this horrible fluorescent lighting, so the pictures of the steak cooked really didn’t turn out well.

* Sidenote-  A couple weeks ago Sue and I were discussing steaks (because if you think we talk about food a lot in our regular lives, it is a drop in the bucket compared to how much we talk about food to each other) and we both, at the same time, say – CAVEMAN STEAKS IN BON APETIT!  We had both read the magazine, fallen in love with the idea of steak grilled on coals, and fixated on it.  I tell you, we are twins separated at birth.  Or- we both really love meat.   – Cat

Ok. Picture of steak and link to the method:

Tell me that's not a beautiful steak

Now let’s move onto the corn butter. I have always been a purist when it comes to corn. We have AMAZING sweet corn in the Midwest and I never felt the need to mess with that, a little butter and a little salt was all you ever needed. Well, this butter changed my life, especially in Colorado where the corn is not *quite* as good as Midwestern corn.

This is the original recipe from Bon Appétit:

1 stick unsalted butter, softened, and divided

1 tbs ancho chili powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tbs honey

½ tsp dried oregano (I recommend Mexican oregano)

½ tsp kosher salt

¼ tsp granulated garlic or garlic powder

¼ tsp onion powder

8+ ears of corn

Method:

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a small skillet over medium low heat. Add chili powder and cumin; stir 10 seconds. Transfer to a medium bowl; stir in honey and cool.

Add oregano, salt, granulated garlic, onion powder, and 6 tablespoons butter to the butter mixture. Mix until smooth. This can be made ahead. Cover, chill, bring to room temperature before serving.

We grilled the corn on the charcoal grill until it had a nice amount of charred spots on it. About 12 minutes.

As you well know, neither Cat nor I are very good at following recipes, so I had to mess with this one….just little bit though! After trying this butter for the first time, it was incredible but I thought it needed a little bit of a kick, so I added 1 tsp of chipotle powder.

* This charcoal grill photograph at the top of the post is by our dear friend Renae, she is super talented, you can check out her work here.

Try this; it will change your life. Happy grilling! – Sue

Leave a comment

Filed under BBQ, Meat, Recipes, Sides

Leave a Reply

