Fried Green Tomatoes

I remember (like most of you probably) watching the movie Fried Green Tomatoes when I was a kid, and thinking to myself “I hate tomatoes, but that sounds delicious!” Thankfully, my taste has evolved and I love tomatoes, especially fresh heirloom tomatoes, and little baby grape tomatoes, YUM. Sometime in high school I tried fried green tomatoes, and I fell in love. They aren’t that easy to come by (which is a damn shame if you ask me) so if you see them on a menu, order them! Or…you can make them at home. I should tell you, these aren’t actually fried, but hey, we could probably all use a little less fried food in our lives right? They were equally delicious nonetheless.

Ingredients:

3-4 medium sized green tomatoes

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

1/2 cup panko style breadcrumbs

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground pepper

1/4 tsp paprika (optional, I used a spicy smoked paprika)

1/4 tsp garlic powder (also optional, but adds nice flavor)

1 egg

Splash of milk (or water in a pinch)

1 ½ Tbs olive oil (approximately)

Method:

Preheat oven to 425 (or heat grill to medium heat).

Whisk together egg and a splash of milk and set aside. Whisk together bread crumbs and spices and set aside. Slice the tomatoes into 1/4 inch thick slices. On a rimmed baking sheet pour a thin layer of olive oil (approximately 1 1/2 Tbs). You want a thin layer of oil; you don’t want the tomatoes to be sitting in a puddle of it. Dip the slices into the egg mixture, and then into the breadcrumb/spice mixture, carefully coating each side evenly. Place the finished slice onto the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 1o minutes, then flip, and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

I actually grilled my on a cast iron grill plate like this. I highly recommend this product, it’s what I use to make pizzas, and I also use it to grill all sorts of vegetables. It worked perfectly for this, though keep in mind grill temperature is usually higher, so you will want to carefully monitor your tomatoes.

I made a simple dipping sauce from ¼ cup greek yogurt, 2 Tbs mayo, and 1 Tbs garlic Dijon mustard (whatever your favorite fancy mustard is, will do). You could serve these with anything from ranch dressing, to BBQ sauce, whatever suits your taste. Or if you are feeling adventurous, make a BLT sandwich out of them….mmm, I wish I had that to eat right now! Enjoy!

-Sue

4 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Recipes, Sides

4 responses to “Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. Francis

    Thank you for posting this. It’s look yummy. I will try that very soon since i love tomatoes.

  2. Kathy

    Never thought of a BLT–great plan. Will try them tonight!!

  3. catsue

    Francis- thanks! They do look fantastic, I’ll have to try Sue’s recipe too. =)
    Kathy- the dijonnaise idea is a good one for BLTs too, I usually use chipotle mayo.

  4. What a great idea-we’re having burgers and “fried green tomatoes” on our plate.
    Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

