Sweet Onion Jam

I have had things like this on cheese plates across town; I have also had it as a lovely accompaniment to charcuteries, pates, and mousses. I was pretty much obsessed.  No one had to win me over on the onions, I already love those, but this was something better. This was a slightly sweet, slightly savory, wonderful version that begged to be eaten by the spoonful but was even better when combined with a smear of brie.

I worked on this recipe for awhile, and I finally found this one. It is a wonderful combination of tangy from the wine and the vinegar, savory from the onion, and sweet from the sugars. The grenadine, which some may think as odd, adds a stunning garnet hue to the jam. As it slowly cooks everything reduces and thickens to the perfect consistency for spooning onto crackers.

This recipe originally comes from Food and Wine Magazine.

Ingredients:

1 Tbs unsalted butter

2 medium Vidalia or other sweet onions diced into ¾ inch pieces

½ cup white sugar

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

1/3 cup grenadine

1/3 cup dry red wine (I use malbec)

Method:

Melt the butter in a medium skillet or sauce pan, cook over medium heat until the onions are soft and just translucent, about 8 mins. Add the sugar, wine, vinegar, grenadine and a pinch of salt.

Cook over low heat stirring occasionally until the liquid thickens significantly and all of the onions have been saturated with the red color. About 35 mins. Transfer onion jam to bowl and let cool.

This can be refrigerated for up to a week

Notes:

I used a small enameled dutch oven to make this- I think it’s the best a caramelizing the onions and the non stick is unsurpassed (at least in my opinion).

I like to use a malbec in this dish as it is a dry red, but with slightly fruity and spicy undertones. A cabernet sauvignon would be nice in this, as well as dryer zinfandel.

Did you know that grenadine used to be made from pomegranate juice? If you can find the real stuff I highly recommend using it.

This would also be a wonderful accompaniment to grilled or roasted meat, especially pork. I really love cheese though, so I’m pretty much sticking with that.

I most commonly serve this with goats milk Brie, and a smoked white cheddar with black pepper (Tillamook).

-Sue

1 Comment

January 26, 2011 · 10:38 am

One response to “Sweet Onion Jam

Leave a Reply

