Japanese Ginger Carrot Dressing

I believe my hatred for bottled salad dressings is well documented.  Susan and I were having a conversation the other day, in fact, wherein I noted that I hate the word “zesty” mostly because it is always applied to bottled salad dressings, which are NEVER actually zesty.  Also, my love for homemade dressings and condiments coincides nicely with my love of jars.

You know when you’re having sushi somewhere and they bring you a nice little side salad with that delicious orange gingery dressing?  This is that dressing.  It’s really simple, I can’t imagine why I haven’t made it before.  You need to really like ginger to like this dressing.  If you’re the person who, when eating sushi, always selfishly takes all the pickled ginger, asks for more, and then eats all that ginger too, this is the dressing for you.  Susan hates ginger, which I find as understandable as she finds my hatred of bananas.  She thinks it tastes like soap.  She’s obviously crazy.

Japanese Ginger Carrot Dressing, adapted from Use Real Butter

1 cup of carrots, chopped

1/4 cup sweet onion, chopped

1/4 cup fresh ginger, peeled and chopped

3 tbsp rice wine vinegar

2 tbsp sweet Thai chili sauce

3 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp honey

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp vegetable oil

salt and pepper

Put everything in your food processor and puree until smooth.  Spoon over salad and serve.

gingery!

Notes – As you see, I changed the recipe from the original, because I didn’t have any miso paste and I don’t like sesame oil, it takes over the flavor of everything you put it in.  If you don’t have sweet Thai chili sauce, buy some and keep it in your fridge.  If you make Asian dishes even occasionally it’ll be useful, I use it all the time, as a nice binding agent, as a little sweetness and spiciness, I love it.

– Cat

Leave a comment

February 1, 2011 · 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

