Silvia’s Green Mole Chicken Enchiladas

Once upon a time, I lived in Los Angeles, and worked for a wonderful, wonderful company called Novica.  I loved my job a lot, and everyone I worked with, but Los Angeles and I got along slightly less well, so I moved.  One of the greatest things about the Novica office is Silvia, the nicest, happiest, funniest lady in the world, who makes delicious lunches every Friday, and everyone gathers at tables together to eat lunch.  (Yes, really.  It’s a magical place.)  Silvia is a GOOD cook.  There were several favorite things she made that I loved; tamales at Christmas and her creamy Brazilian shrimp, which I just remembered and will have to make soon.  My favorite Silvia lunch though, was green mole.  Silvia serves her green mole with shredded chicken (rotisserie, because she’s no fool), rice and veggies.  When I asked her for the recipe and she gave it, I was shocked because it’s pretty simple, but the simplest things are the best, really.  Examples: good bread and butter, black coffee, a really nice steak, grilled shrimp with butter, you get the point.  Silvia’s green mole is like that.  Also, her guacamole is the best I’ve ever had, ever.  She used to make a giant bowl of it, probably with a dozen or more avocados and every single speck would be eaten by the end of the day.  I miss Silvia.

Anyway, I’m making dinner tonight because Linda is coming over for Bones night.  Dom and I moved in together, so the era of Linda and I living together has ended.  I don’t think Dom will be making me excellent homemade biscotti any time soon, so I have my reservations about this arrangement, but he does do the laundry, lift the heavy things and make coffee in the morning.  Pros and cons.  Because it’s been awhile, and Linda and I have a long history of loving enchiladas, here we are.  I adapted this recipe slightly because I wanted to create a bit more of a sauce to drizzle over the enchiladas, but it’s pretty darned close to Silvia’s original recipe.  I served them with my Purple Cabbage, Carrot and Radish slaw.

Silvia’s Green Mole Chicken Enchiladas

1 rotisserie chicken, shredded (carcass reserved for making stock)

6 cloves of garlic, whole

3-4 big pasilla peppers, washed, cut in half and seeded (most grocery stores in Portland have pasillas, so you can probably get them anywhere.  If you can’t find them, you can subsitute poblanos, but it will change the flavor.  Poblanos are a bit more bitter, I think, whereas pasillas are sweeter.)

1 jalapeno, washed cut in half and partially seeded (you can omit this completely if you want the sauce to be mild.  If you like things spicier, put it in, and leave in half the seeds and ribs.  If you like things pretty spicy, leave in all the seeds and ribs.)

1 tbsp cumin

1 sweet onion, quartered

1/2 cup milk (add more if you need to thin the sauce)

1/2 cup of sour cream (add more if you want)

salt and pepper

corn or flour tortillas

some kind of white cheese, queso blanco, pepper jack, whatever, shredded or crumbled

Shred the chicken and set aside.  Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees and roast the peppers, onions and garlic cloves on an oiled cookie sheet until soft, about 30-40 minutes.  When everything is soft and a little charred, puree all in a food processor.

roasted chile, garlic and onion paste. not gross.

Drizzle in the milk and sour cream until the sauce is smooth. Remove about a cup of the sauce and set aside.  Mix the shredded chicken into the remaining sauce in a separate bowl.

Lightly oil (Pam) a 9 x 13 pan.  Place a few spoonfuls of chicken in each tortilla, roll up and place in the pan.  Repeat until the chicken is gone.  Pour the reserved sauce over the enchiladas and sprinkle with the cheese.  You can do this days ahead of time, if you want.  Just cover the pan with foil and stick it in the fridge until you’re ready to bake them.

When you are ready to bake them, pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees and put the pan in the oven, tinfoil still on.  After maybe 20 minutes, remove the tinfoil and let the cheese brown on top.  Note- if you cook these right away after assembling them, while the filling is still hot, don’t put tinfoil on top and just wait for the cheese to brown, because they’re already hot, maybe 10 minutes or so.

serve with an attractive sprig of cilantro!

I served these with the purple cabbage, radish and carrot slaw, which was fantastic.  Sidenote- these are great leftover.

– Cat

8 Comments

February 7, 2011 · 1:21 pm

8 responses to “Silvia’s Green Mole Chicken Enchiladas

  1. bryan

    Hey, Catsue has a new look. Whats the deal. I don’t like change.

    • catsue

      oh bryan, it’s not so bad! we thought it’d be easier to read. change is good! remember how much you ended up loving that snuggie?!

  2. It’s effectively easier to read, i love it that way. And the food look delicious. 🙂

  3. Susie

    Ok, Cat…as you know, I don’t eat Chicken, but this looks like something Dan would love. So I will make it for him. Any chance Sylvia gave you the recipe for the best ever guacamole? Because as Dan eats this meal, I would probably be able to finish off all 12 avocados in her famous guac recipe. Yum.

    • catsue

      Hey Susie! I will look around for the guac recipe. It definitely had cilantro, tomatoes, onions, lime juice. She also did three good tricks for keeping it from going brown: leave the avocado pits in it, pour lime juice over the top and then plastic wrap on top of the actual guac. Mmmmmmm.

  4. The recipes great. I have tried it over dinner and the kids love it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

