Orange Marmalade Curry Chicken with Basmati Rice (crock pot recipe)

If you have been following the blog, you know that last week I made blood orange marmalade. It turned out wonderfully, and there were a lot of leftovers. While I was trying to think of what I could do with all this extra marmalade, I recalled reading about an orange marmalade chicken on this lovely blog right here.  The basic idea was just what I was looking for, but I changed it…a lot. First of all, last week I was a getting over a nasty flu bug, and so something requiring very little effort sounded fantastic. Also, since my taste buds were a little dead I wanted something spicy. Curry came to mind. Indian style curries, in particular, go really well with citrus flavors.  So with a little bit of imagination and some internet research I came up with this recipe.

Orange marmalade curry chicken with basmati rice

Ingredients:

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts or 5-6 chicken thighs

Salt and pepper

1 ½ cups orange marmalade (homemade or store bought)

1 ½ tsp. curry powder

½ tsp. cayenne pepper

¼ tsp red pepper flakes

½ tsp ground ginger (or fresh)

½ cup water

¼ cup honey

1 Tbs cornstarch (optional)

Method:

Liberally salt and pepper the chicken and place it in the bottom of a large crock pot. Whisk together the marmalade, spices, water, and honey. Pour the mixture over the chicken. Cook for 3 hours on high or 5-6 hours on low.

When the chicken is about 15 minutes from being completed start the rice.

Ingredients:

1 cup basmati rice, rinsed

2 cups water

1 Tbs olive oil

¼ cup golden raisins

¼ cup frozen peas

¼ tsp salt

Method:

Add the water, olive oil, and rice to a sauce pan. Bring to a boil. Once boiling reduce the heat to a simmer and cover. Cook for 10 minutes, and then add the raisins, peas and salt. Cover and cook for an additional 10 minutes until the rice is soft and has absorbed all the water. Fluff with a fork before serving.

While the rice was cooking I removed the chicken from the crock pot (it was falling apart and looked delicious). I moved the sauce over to medium sauce pan and brought it to a boil. When it was boiling I added a Tbs of cornstarch and whisked it over medium heat until the sauce had thickened.

This is what it means to "coat the back of a spoon"

This is a completely optional step, but I felt I wanted the sauce to be a bit thicker. Add the sauce and chicken back to the crock pot (or a large serving dish) and toss to combine. Serve over the rice.

A few notes:

I used chicken breasts, but in retrospect I think chicken thighs might have added a bit more flavor and moisture. Although the chicken breasts were still delightful!

Trust me on the rice, the peas and raisins really add to the dish.

To me this is not a very spicy curry, but I like my curries hot. If you are worried about the heat of the dish feel free to cut ONE of the peppers out (either the cayenne OR the red pepper).

I think you could easily bake this dish, or even cut the chicken into strips and make this on the stove. Sometimes crock pots are just more convenient though

-Sue

2 Comments

Filed under Meat, Recipes

2 responses to “Orange Marmalade Curry Chicken with Basmati Rice (crock pot recipe)

  1. “To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” -Oscar Wilde

  2. Pingback: Orange Marmalade | Catsue. Bless you. Let's eat!

Leave a Reply

