Roasted Chicken and Vegetables with Proscuitto

that chicken is so damned pretty.

This took me 30 minutes from unpacking groceries to putting it in the oven.  Cooking time was another 40 minutes, but I spent those 40 minutes having a glass of wine on the couch and reading Glamour (because I really like to know what kind of jackets fit my body type AND also how to do a proper smoky eye).  This would have been even faster if I had gotten boneless, skinless chicken.

This recipe is a good way to use up odds and ends like potatoes, onions and carrots, or any vegetable you want to get rid of.  Also, I always have half a bottle of white wine in my fridge, leftover from some other meal.  I don’t drink white wine, as a rule, but I use it a lot for cooking, and I hate to throw away booze.  This meal also occurs in one dish, which is fantastic.

The key to getting it right is to not be afraid to use high temperatures.  I think for a long time I thought that you cook everything in your oven on 350 degrees.  This cooks on 450 for 40 minutes, then you remove the chicken and broil the vegetables until crispy and brown.  It’s so fast, I can’t believe it. This is really simple and delicious, the richness from the veggies, chicken, wine and proscuitto is really well complemented by the wine, mustard, rosemary and lemon.  It also made the house smell fantastic.  It’s just so easy, there’s no reason in the world not to make it.  Also, if, like me, your neighborhood has very convenient rosemary bushes growing, feel free to steal your rosemary rather than purchase it.

Roasted Chicken and Vegetables with Prosciutto

1 whole cut up chicken, skin removed and fat trimmed (you’re welcome to use boneless skinless chicken breasts, thighs, whatever)

2 onions, quartered

1 lb potatoes, diced (I used little potatoes, so I just halved them)

1 lb carrots, diced (I used baby carrots, whole)

8 cloves garlic, 3 cloves chopped roughly, 5 minced

5 tbsp olive oil

2 stalks rosemary

1/2 cup white wine

2 tsp whole grain mustard

6 slices proscuitto

salt and pepper

lemon wedges

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.  In a 9 x 13 inch baking dish, put in the onions, potatoes, carrots and bigger chunks of garlic.  Toss these in a couple teaspoons of olive oil.

Mince together the 5 minced cloves of garlic and a couple teaspoons of the rosemary and set aside.  When your chicken is trimmed and skinless, salt and pepper each piece, then sprinkle a little of the garlic/rosemary mixture on each piece.  Then, wrap each piece in a piece of the proscuitto, as tightly as you can.  I tore my prosciutto into halves lengthwise to get more mileage out of them.  When each piece is wrapped, set them on top of the veggie mixture in the baking dish.

Whisk together the remaining oil, the wine and the mustard.  Pull the rosemary leaves off the little twigs and mix them into the wine/mustard mixture.  Pour this over the chicken and vegetables.  Sprinkle salt and pepper over the whole thing.

Bake on 450 for 40 minutes.  After 40 minutes, remove the chicken to a plate and cover with foil, put the oven on broil and stick the veggies back under the broiler for 5-10 minutes, until they’re browned and most of the liquid has evaporated.

Squeeze the lemon wedges over the chicken and vegetables before serving.

Notes:

Most of my liquid had not evaporated, so I poured most of it into a saucepan and boiled it, reducing by about half.  Then I poured it over the chicken while I waited for the veggies to finish broiling.

I think I would make this again with only boneless, skinless chicken thighs.  I think chicken breasts are kind of stupid.  They’re bland and take a long time to cook and dry out fast.  Thighs are where it’s at, more fat and flavor.

– Cat

Leave a comment

Filed under Poultry, Recipes, Sides, Vegetables

Leave a Reply

