Chili Dogs

man alive that is a good lookin hotdog.

This one is for my friend Steph and my dad, who are the only two people I know who love hotdogs as much as I do.

It’s surprisingly difficult to get a good chili dog on the west coast.  It’s like people out here don’t know what’s good.  I made chili dogs recently for some buddies, we’re all from Michigan, and a conversation ensued surrounding which hotdogs are the best.  Kowalski won.   These chili dogs I made with Hebrew Nationals, which are a good substitute for the Kowalski, nice spicy flavor, good snap.

I also made my own chili for them, because even though it might be surprising coming from a person who loves hotdogs as much as I do, I don’t much care for eating food out of cans.  I tried to make it as much like real coney dog chili as possible, all nice and brown and meaty.  I succeeded pretty damned well, though I put a few things in that I’m sure aren’t in the real recipe (see: beer and worcestershire).  Also, I don’t have a grill and I don’t believe in boiling hotdogs, so I broiled them.  I served them the real coney way, with mustard and diced onion.  Booyah, healthy west coasters with your organic wheatgrass and sprouts and shit.  This is how we do it in the midwest.

Chili Dogs

Pack or two of hotdogs, I used Hebrew Nationals, if you’re in Michigan, get Kowalskis for the love of all that is holy.

Pack or two of hotdog buns

1 lb ground beef, I used 85/15

1 medium onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

3 tbsp tomato paste

1/3 cup beer, I used IPA because Dom was about to drink one

2 tsp chili powder

2 tsp cumin

1 1-1/2 cups water

3 tbsp yellow mustard

3 tbsp ketchup

1 tbsp worcestershire

1 tsp sugar

salt and pepper

Method:  In a saucepan on medium heat, brown the beef with the onions and garlic, about 10-15 minutes.  Then put in everything else, cover and simmer for at least an hour.  Toward the end, I mashed mine with a potato masher because I wanted the beef to be all tiny and crumbly like coney chili.

Broil the hotdogs for 10-15 minutes, until they’re toasty and a little blackened.  Serve with mustard and diced onions.

– Cat

6 Comments

Filed under BBQ, Meat, Recipes

6 responses to “Chili Dogs

  1. bryan

    That really is a good looking dog. Well done. I don’t know how you and Sue feel about recommending beverages to go with your meals, like fine wines or cordials, but that dog is crying out for a budweiser.

    • Good point. We should start doing drink pairings with our recipes, or Sue should. I tend to drink cheap red wine with everything. Though I think they’d run me out of the state of Oregon (most microbreweries of any state) for drinking a Budweiser, but I’ll see what I can do. – Cat

  2. June

    Being from Detroit, the closest to the Detroit Coney taste would be Cupid”s Hot Dog in Van Nuys, Ca. or Simi Valley, CA. They even have the snap.

    • Hi June- I used to live in LA!! But no more. Now I’m up in Portland, Oregon, where Detroit-style coney dogs are as easy to come by as a nice day before July. =( Thanks for reading! – Cat

      • Lisa

        Please let me know if you ever do find a good place here in Portland for Chili dogs. I’m also a transplant from Michigan (west side of the state) and the thing I miss the most are the Red Hots!

      • Oh, I will. There’s a place in SE Portland that does mean brats…Otto’s. That’s worth a try. But for real chili dogs…the jury is still out. =)

Leave a Reply

