One Year Anniversary of Obsessing About Food Even More than Usual

Today is our 1 year blogiversary.  Foodiversary.  Cookiversary.  Recipeversary.  I’m done.

15 years of friendship 1 year of blogging

Sue and I have written 129 posts and have had 100 million conversations about food, which is about 40 more conversations about food than we used to have.  I remember fondly the days when we talked about feelings and boys and stuff.  I’m kidding, Sue and I still talk about feelings, of course.  Just mostly our feelings about sandwiches.

We’re really happy and grateful that anyone is reading this.  It’s been a fantastic year and we want to thank everyone for continuing to read about our triumphs (Sue) and our misadventures (me).  To celebrate this day, we would like to offer you two things.  The first is a selection of conversations from an ongoing post we’ve been writing for a year entitled “The Things We Talk About That Are Not Food”.  We get such an almighty kick out of each other that we figured the world must experience our wit.  Also- to us, everything is about food.

____________________________________________________________________________

Cat: Dude, I LOVE parentheses.  I mean, I really love them.

Sue: Me too!  They are the perfect way to insert something tongue-in-cheek.

Cat: Yeah!  How else do you put in a funny aside?

Sue: I know right?!  Also, Trader Joe’s has cinnamon cheese.  You should go get some and then get me some details.

Cat: That’s gross.  But also, what if it’s delicious?  I will buy some today.

Sue: Excellent.  Now, what should I make for dinner?

______________________________________________________________________________

Sue: Are you there yet?

Cat: Did you just type that?

Sue: Yes.

Cat: Because I was just typing that exact same thing.  So I had the best ice cream in the whole world last night.

Sue: Was it lobster?

Cat: What? No.  It was caramel ice cream with a salted dark chocolate swirl.  SO good.  The chocolate was soft, kind of like fudge sauce.  And they were not shy with the sea salt.

Sue: Oh yum!

Cat: Yes.  It sounds hipstery and regular, but I am telling you, it was delicious.

Sue: Okay, so two things, one about ice cream, one not.

_____________________________________________________________________________

The second thing we’d like to share with you is our top 5 posts written by the other.

Cat’s favorite posts of Sue’s:

Fried Green Tomatoes – She doesn’t deep fry these!  I want them.

Chocolate Olive Oil Mousse – Sue is really, really good at desserts.  I’ve heard a lot about this mousse and I haven’t had it yet.  It is possible to mail refrigerated items, just saying.

Pork Chops with Maple Black Pepper Sauce – I almost chose the caveman steak instead of these, but I’ve had it (DELICIOUS.  Cook meat on coals immediately.)

Green Chili – I come from a red chili state, but I’m willing to accept the existence of green chili.  I wouldn’t trust anyone else to make it.

Diver Scallops with Linguine and Bacon – I have actually had this, but I want her to make it for me again because it’s flingin flangin amazing.  Sue cooks a scallop better than any I’ve ever had in a restaurant.

Sue’s favorite posts of Cat’s:

Falafel– Because Cat made these for me when she lived with me for one month and I have been thinking about them ever since.

Highball Pot Roast– Who wouldn’t like something with extra booze? My dad makes a wonderful pot roast but mine never turns out even when I use his recipe. If I trust anyone to successfully incorporate booze into meat it’s Cat.

Chicken Liver Pate– One time when I was visiting Portland, Cat and I had the most wonderful pate ever. I have full confidence hers is even better.

Coffee- Balsamic Flank Steak– My flank steak is always tough, Cat swears this is amazing. I think I’m going to have her make it for me this weekend. Plus she serves it with creamy Parmesan spinach. What’s not to love?

Shrimp and Grits– Yes, I am aware that there are no vegetables on my list, but I want to eat this too. Thanks to Cat I have learned to love grits (and polenta) and I am always up for a meal that includes them.

we were cool in middle school

-Cat and Sue

7 Comments

Filed under About Us

7 responses to “One Year Anniversary of Obsessing About Food Even More than Usual

  1. bryan

    CONGRATULATIONS! AWESOME! Have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog this past year, and making some of the recipes, and look forward to doing more of both in the future. Great job. By the way, you both were in fact pretty cool in middle school as I recall.

  2. Jess

    I love reading all of your recipes! Congrats Sue-be! I’m gonna miss you in Texas but at least I can keep up with you this way 🙂

  3. Mom

    Congrars and you both Rock the blogesphere!!! Can’t wait for what’s coming!!!

  4. Vanessa

    Cat! I just noticed you had a food blog (behind the times I know) and I wanted to let you know that it’s AMAZING! The recipes I’ve looked through look so good and I will be giving them a try! Hope all is well with you and congrats on the blog 🙂
    Vanessa

    • Vanessa!! So good to hear from you, and thanks!!! What’s going on these days? I’d love to catch up. Facebook message me some life details! – Cat

  5. Cath

    congrats to you both! very fun reading, as I also like to try out new recipes, but as of late, no time to cook or bake! did make penne with vodka sauce last Friday for 13 which was pretty tasty, & made homemade meatballs to accompany it…

Leave a Reply

