Beef Stroganoff

This is, hands down, one of my favorite dinners. When I visit my parents this is almost always on my request list. There is just something so homey and comforting about it. It’s just simple good food. I haven’t made this in years, partially because I associate it with home and it’s really the best when one of my parents make it, and partially because the boyfriend doesn’t like mushrooms.

He loved this, even though he did pick out all the mushrooms. Then again, he likes anything with gravy.

That’s pretty much what this is, beef with mushrooms and gravy served over egg noodles. There is nothing fancy here, just delicious down home goodness.

The inspiration behind making this was a friend of mine who attempted to make a version she found online which turned out to be nothing like she remembered. Since she was coming over for dinner, it seemed like the perfect time to call Mom for the recipe. This is a family secret, so don’t make it for anyone you don’t really really like (okay, it’s not a secret exactly, but it is from an Ohio cookbook- the kind neighborhoods and churches put together- so it’s someone’s secret family recipe).

Beef Stroganoff originally from Mom

Ingredients:

2 Lb boneless beef, I recommend sirloin

½ cup flour

1/8 tsp pepper

1/3 cup butter; plus 3 Tbs

½ cup finely chopped onion

2 cups hot water

2 bouillon cubes

½ lb mushrooms, sliced

1 c sour cream

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 package egg noodles

Method:

Put meat in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes, this was a trick my mom always used; it makes it easier to slice the meat thinly. Cut the meat into 2 inch long ¼ inch thick slices. Combine flour and seasonings in a brown bag, add the meat and shake to coat (you could do this in other methods, but this is the way mom does it). Melt the butter in a large skillet and add the entire contents of the brown bag. Brown the meat over medium low heat. Add the onions and brown. Dissolve bouillon in hot water; add to meat mixture. Cover and simmer for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Liz wanted to make sure she got credit for slicing all the mushrooms so beautifully

Lightly brown mushrooms in 3 Tbs of butter; add the mushrooms to the mixture and simmer for 5 more minutes. Stir in sour cream and Worcestershire sauce.   Serve over cooked egg noodles.

A few notes:

While I am a big fan of Better Than Bouillon and other fancier substitutes, this recipe needs good ol’ fashioned bouillon cubes, do not substitute.

Speaking of substitutes, I often use Greek yogurt in place of sour cream. Not here my friends, stick to the originals.

It’s ok if you think about giving my Mom a big hug when you eat this, I think that too.

-Sue

6 Comments

Filed under Meat, Pasta

6 responses to “Beef Stroganoff

  1. Elizabeth

    Any thoughts on if there could be substitute for the mushrooms? For those of us who also love this dish but have husbands allergic to mushroom =)

    • Ah true, i forgot for a moment that you and I are in the same boat! I had decided that next time i make this i would saute the mushrooms on the side and just add them to my portion (instead of wasting the ones that nick picked out). I think mushrooms are ideal for this because of their flavor and texture. I think another good option would maybe be zucchini since it also has a bit of an earthy mushy (yeah, i know that words not appetizing) quality…but i haven’t tried it, so you’ll have to test it out and let me know!

  2. Audrey - Mom

    Nice tribute to my old fashioned recipes. Not even one change =)

  3. Barbara

    I was in a pinch without my trusty stroganoff mix from McCormick when I found your blog. I had all the ingredients needed for your recipe. It was a hit with my family, even my husband who is quite particular. Thanks for a great recipe! I may even abandon the McCormick mix!!!!

  4. yes! abandon that mix! 🙂 So glad you found our blog and that it could help you out in a pinch. This is a recipe close to my heart, so it always makes me happy when someone else loves it too!

Leave a Reply

